In celebration of Pro Bono Week, Davis Polk has recognized eight associates for their commitment to and performance of high-quality pro bono work. We are pleased to present this year’s Pro Bono Award honorees and acknowledge their outstanding pro bono achievements:

  • Meredith Manning (First place): Meredith has advised U-visa clients and both formerly detained and non-detained asylum applicants. She also played a major role in a class action litigation pending in the Southern District of New York, brought on behalf of persons with intellectual disabilities who are not receiving services from the Administration for Children’s Services, in violation of the Americans with Disabilities Act and other civil rights laws. Meredith also worked on a divorce/domestic violence case that involved activities in Alabama, California, New York and Nevada.
  • Chui-Lai Cheung (Second place): Chui-Lai has done a significant amount of asylum work and co-leads the Columbia Law School Asylum Clinic. She has secured victories on behalf of asylum clients from Chad, and she continues to work on asylum and immigration matters for formerly detained and non-detained clients. In addition, she has contributed to our amicus efforts in opposing rulings issued by the U.S. Attorney General on asylum procedure and standards. Chui-Lai also recently worked on a custody and order of protection matter.
  • James Park (Third place): James regularly works on T-visas and SIJS applications. During the course of briefing two matters before the Second Circuit Court of Appeals on behalf of detained asylum seekers, James analyzed the complex issue of whether a state law conviction subjects an asylum applicant to removability under federal asylum law based upon the “categorical approach” analysis.

Our Honorable Mention honorees are Claudia Carvajal Lopez, Ian Hogg, Erika James, Ryan McCartney and Chase McReynolds.

The associates will be recognized at a reception on October 23, 2019, and the firm will make charitable donations to a non-profit of their choice in their honor.