Davis Polk and several of the firm’s lawyers were honored by The Legal Aid Society at the 2018 Pro Bono Publico Awards on October 16, 2018. The annual awards recognize law firms that partner with the Society to provide pro bono assistance to vulnerable New Yorkers.

The firm received the Honorable Jonathan Lippman New York Pro Bono Publico and Public Service Law Firm Award. Each year the Society presents this award to the law firm “whose exceptional pro bono commitment to the Legal Aid Society and its clients has furthered Judge Lippman’s goal of ‘Making Equal Justice For All Not Just An Ideal, But Truly A Reality In Our Great State.’” The firm award was based on work done by Davis Polk lawyers in the areas of children’s rights, bail reform and immigration. The Honorable Rolando T. Acosta, the Presiding Justice of the Appellate Division First Department, presented the award.

In addition, Legal Aid honored Davis Polk partners Lara Samet Buchwald and Avi Gesser, senior counsel Dan Kolb, Special Counsel for Pro Bono Sharon Katz, counsel Nancy Marchand, and associates Shahira Ali, David Angel, Christina Bell, Garrett Cardillo, Chui-Lai Cheung,  Merinda Davis, Drew Dean, Stephanie Dorsey, Hannah Gerstenblatt, Walter Hawes, John Hammond Heath, Gabriel Jaime-Bettan, Hunter Brooks Mims, Alicia Robinson, Will Schildknecht, Peter Starr, Mara Theophila, Serena Wu, Mengyi Xu and Grace (Wen) Zhang.